Donate Now

Donate Now to support our campaigns and community support projects.

Amount: 

Powered by OSTraining.com

Poll Today

Religious Instruction in State Schools.

Should religious instruction be permitted in New Zealand State Schools?

» Go to poll »
The vote is already over! It ended on Wednesday, 30.April 2014 (00:00).

jVS by www.joomess.de.

The Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism and Humanism

Email
The Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism and Humanism
The Dictionary of Atheism
Rating: Not Rated Yet
Price:
Sales price: $99.00
Description

In the tradition of Voltaire’s Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce’s Devil’s Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe's Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism. In the preface, author Bill Cooke notes that his work is intended "for freethinkers in the broadest sense of the word: people who like to think for themselves and not according to the preplanned routes set by others." This dictionary will serve as a guide for all those people striving to lead fulfilling, morally responsible lives without religious belief.

Readers are offered a wide range of concepts, from ancient, well-known notions such as God, free will, and evil to new concepts such as "eupraxsophy". Also included are current "buzzwords" that have some bearing on the freethought worldview such as "metrosexual". The names of many people whose lives or work reflect freethought principles form a major portion of the entries. Finally, a humanist calendar is included, on which events of interest to freethinkers are noted.

This unique, accessible, and highly informative work will be a welcome addition to the libraries of open-minded people of all philosophic persuasions.

Reviews

There are yet no reviews for this product.
Joomla Templates - by Joomlage.com